Day Conference 2024

April 28, 2024

On Sunday 28 April 2024, the Ecclesiastical Law Society’s Thirty-sixth Annual Conference took place at St Peter’s Eaton Square in London. Eighty people attended to consider the subject of ‘The Law of Liturgy in the Church of England: Dead or Alive?’.

Six speakers addressed the topic, each from very different directions, opening up new perspectives on the questions. The speakers were: The Rt Revd Dr Martin Warner, Bishop of Chichester; The Revd Neil Patterson, Diocesan Director of Vocations & Ordinands and Ministry Development Officer, Diocese of Hereford; The Ven Moira Astin, Archdeacon of Reigate; the Worshipful David Willink, Barrister, Chancellor of Rochester; The Rt Revd Robert Atwell, former Bishop of Exeter; The Revd Dr Christopher Landau, director of ReSource. See a future edition of the Ecclesiastical Law Journal for a full conference report and more details.

The Society’s Annual General Meeting took place in the afternoon, at which the Trustees’ report, the Treasurer’s Report, and the Journal Editor’s report were received. Elizabeth Wilson stepped down as chair after serving her three-year term, and Lee Coley was elected as the new chair. Elizabeth was thanked for all her work leading the ELS over the past three year by the President of the Society, the Rt Revd Christopher Hill. The Rev’d Sam Maginnis, Ola Olajide and The Rev’d Neil Patterson were elected as trustees.

The AGM unanimously passed the following motion: “This Society would welcome the introduction of a postgraduate qualification in canon law as part of the Common Awards partnership between the Church of England, the Church in Wales, Theological Education Institutions, and Durham University.”

The day concluded with Evening Prayer and a drinks reception, at which HH Peter Collier KC proposed a toast to our outgoing chair.

The Society is grateful to St Peter’s, Eaton Square and the Vicar Fr Jonathan Kester, for hosting us, and to Stone King Solicitors LLP for sponsoring the conference.