Ecclesiastical Law Society Calendar 2020-1

Please note that because of the present Coronavirus pandemic, most of our events have moved online. We are also providing more online resources, such as our new Youtube channel.

Monday 30 November: Church Law for Archdeacons.

Thursday 10 December: The Rt Revd Lord Williams of Oystermouth gives a public lecture to mark the 850th anniversary of the murder of Saint Thomas of Canterbury. The Ecclesiastical Law Society, in association with Villanova University, Notre Dame University, and the Dean and Chapter of Canterbury Cathedral, extend a warm invitation to this special lecture. Book Now.

2021

Wednesday 27 January: Northern Province Lecture – Louise Connacher, Principal Registrar of the Province of York. “First impressions from a new Provincial Registrar.” Book Now.

Wednesday 3 February: Trustees’ meeting.

Wednesday 24 February: London Lecture – Paul Morris Esq., sometime Registrar, the dioceses of London and Southwark. “Landmark events in Ecclesiastical law during four decades – reflections by a former Registrar.” Book Now.

Saturday 20 March: Virtual Conference: The Solemnization of Matrimony: Past, present and future. This takes the place of the cancelled residential conference. Book Now.

Wednesday 21 April: Northern Province Lecture – The Worshipful John Bullimore, Chancellor of the Dioceses of Blackburn and Derby. “Best practice in the consistory court and other bits, some guidance from a retiring Chancellor.” Book Now.

Wednesday 28 April: Trustees’ meeting.

Wednesday 12 May: London Lecture – Dr Eve Poole, Third Church Estates Commissioner. “Regulation and governance under the new Cathedrals Measure: the start of a new Chapter?” Book Now.

Wednesday 28 July: Trustees’ meeting.

Wednesday 15 September: London Lecture – The Right Worshipful Morag Ellis QC, Dean of the Arches and Auditor. “Clean and green – law and the Carbon neutral Church.” Book Now.

Wednesday 13 October: Trustees’ meeting.

Wednesday 17 November: London Lecture – Peter Collier QC, Vicar General of the Province of York. “50 years of Safeguarding – 950 years of Clergy discipline : Where do we go from here?” Book Now.

Other lectures and events planned for 2021 will appear here soon.